2009- The year that was

The year is drawing to a close, I thought I would do a bit of a retrospective.  Looking back there were a few highlights and lowlights for me.

In January Tony Martin & Ed Kavalee released a tribute podcast for their late colleague, who died the month before, Richard Marsland.

Also in January, I read a letter that I had written to myself that should have been opened on my 35th birthday but forgot.  I learned as mature as we think we are at 21, there’s still a long way to go.  We continue to grow and learn every year until we become the people we are, then grow and learn some more.

We remember the bushfires that ravaged us in February.  It’s almost one third of the way through summer now and we all hope that we won’t see any more this year.  Though unfortunately there have already been some in other states.  Out of the bushfires came a monumental community urge to help.  One of the ways this manifested was the Sound Relief concert, which I attended.  One of the most amazing days of my life.  The highlight being that the rains that day, which bucketed down, put out the last of the fires.

There have been some spectacular photos released of Saturn and its Moons from Cassini this year.  And we celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Moon landing.

Health wise: I’ve had bad sinuses since May.   In fact I had a chronic infection there for a while, and went on four courses of antibiotics.  The sinusitis persists as we speak.

House wise: I finally got my mains water pipe replaced!  No more rusty water & so much more pressure.  I still get a thrill every time I turn on a tap.   I painted my kitchen cupboards. I finally got my air conditioning installed!  I also have organised for Leaf Busters (not mythbusters as I kept accidentally telling people) to come and do my gutters so I never have to have them cleaned ever again.  And I will be replacing the corrugated fibreglass that covers the back with corrugated polycarbonate.

The Black Panel launched their podcast.

And the highest of all highlights for me is after a two and a bit year break my boyfriend and I got back together.  Not a planned thing, something that just sort of evolved.  We’re both very happily now living together.  It’s been a wonderful journey so far for the both of us.  Things developed rather rapidly, but I can’t express how right it feels.  I know people say that all the time, but this just feels right.  It is so different to last time.  This is the same VWB that suggested this very blog.   If you clicked the link above and went back to read the entry about my letter to myself, you would’ve read the paragraph where I express how content I was living the single life.  Perhaps you have to be happy with yourself as a single person before you can be happy as a . . . not-single person.

One thought on “2009- The year that was

  1. It has been a rollercoaster of a year hasn’t it.

    Wishing you a great new year Crystal of the Conundrum, see you out the other side in 2010.

Leave a Reply

