Would you like fries with that?

I was at work trying to get through the branch run when I received a call from a lady at headquarters. She said she had one of our borrowers on the line. She asked if she could put her through and could call I her back and tell her what I thought of the request after I’d helped the lady.

So, The borrower is put through she says;

“Hello, I have a bit of a favour to ask. My son has ordered a DVD and it’s arrived and he really wants it. The problem is my baby is asleep, so I was wondering if you could just put it through or whatever then wait at the front of the library and I’ll drive past and pick it up?”

Stunned by the request, I responded “No, I’m sorry, we don’t do drive through. It’s very very busy here at the moment, we can’t leave the branch to wait outside for you.” Trying to sound as polite as possible.

(It was extremely busy in the library. It was toddler storytime, there were toddlers, parents and strollers everywhere. There was also our usual Wednesday crowd. It’s our busiest day because our two closest neighboring libraries are shut. All those people and only four staff to handle it.)

“So, you mean I have to wake up my baby?” she says.

“Well, we can hold it a bit longer for you if you can’t come in today.” I replied.

“But he really wants it now,” she says. “Oh well, that’s okay. Thanks anyway.”

I called the lady at HQ back to thank her for putting such a strange request through. Certainly brightened up my day.

Leave a Reply

