HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

Well, it’s only the seventh day in, I can still say that.
I hope everyone had a good new year. I didn’t do anything, just stayed in and watched DVDs. It was quite nice actually, except for the heat.
I really couldn’t be bothered this year. I hadn’t thought much past Christmas. I think everyone in my family would’ve been happy to skip Christmas this year, but we didn’t. We did end up having a pretty nice one. Just the immediate family at Mum and Dad’s house. So I managed to get organised enough for Christmas, but didn’t really think about New Year.
Didn’t get an invite anywhere, not that I’m sulking. I could’ve got my act together, made my own plans and invited people to join me. It all just seemed like too much effort and I was happy to spend some time in my own company. A good choice in the long run considering the heat. Man, it was hot!! I think my next major purchase may be air-conditioning.

I haven’t made any New Year’s resolutions. Just plan on doing what I do, and keep re-inventing myself. I do have a kind of special event coming up this year. On my 35th birthday I get to open a letter I wrote to myself when I was 18 (I think). I remembered it periodically at first, then forgot about it. I was reminded when I started re-watching ‘Northern Exposure’, where I got the idea from.

I’m not sure what it will say. I have a bit of an inkling, but don’t remember the details. I wonder if I would meet with my younger self’s approval. I certainly am not the person I thought I would be. Not that I had much notion of where I would be or what I would be doing at age 35. I do remember I was worried that I would still be single, and I am. (You never know I may not be in 9 months). I don’t think that’s such a horrible thing anymore. It would be nice to have someone to share life with, but I am surviving quite well as a single person and enjoying life (for the most part). Anyway I shall re-visit this subject in 9 months when I open the letter. Perhaps not in my blog, but it will be revisited.

I wish a happy and healthy 2008 to all.

One thought on “HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Letter to myself « The Crystal Conundrum

Leave a Reply

